The localisation editor's UI offers the intuitive navigation system, the original lesson preview, the easy to use text formatting editor and a list of useful keyboard shortcuts.
It is possible to navigate through the lesson sections by pages, modules and fields:
- Page – indicates consecutive page titles which can be edited in the editor itself or directly by clicking on the "Edit" blue button on the right.
- Module – indicates the IDs and names of all the modules included in the lesson.
- Field – indicates the individual fields within a module, including the Narration part of the video addon.
1. The arrows enable to move between the pages, modules or fields, and the module or field which is currently being edited is automatically highlighted in the lesson preview. It greatly enhances the translation process as the user is actually able to see the original material.
2. The number of the current page, module or field is displayed in the counter located next to the left arrow. Moving to a specific page or module is possible through the drop-down menu located next to the right arrow.
3. All changes entered in the editor are automatically saved by moving to another section. In order to preview the changes, it is enough to click on the "Refresh" button and the updated version of the lesson will be displayed.
NOTE: Please keep in mind that while copying texts to the editor, it is necessary to remove formatting by selecting the relevant option in the text editor panel.
4. Having finished the localisation process, simply click on the "Exit" button in the upper left.
It is also possible to generate a new XML file based on the current (localised) version of the lesson. It can be done by selecting the "Reset XLIFF to current" option in the "More actions..." drop-down menu. In order to restore the original version of an xml file, it is enough to select the "Reset XLIFF to original" option.
When entering any changes in the standard mAuthor editor in the localised version of the lesson and then trying to open the localisation editor by selecting the "Localise" link, a set of the following options will appear:
- Changes from standard editor will NOT be included in XLIFF. – you will be able to continue the localisation process without the new changes.
- This option will create new XLIFF from current lesson. – a new XLIFF will be generated including the latest changes in the lesson.
- Go back to list of lessons. No additional action will be taken.